pinning it old school

As much as I love Pinterest (you can follow my boards here), there is something about going back to the basics of cut-and-paste collages that I love. When I was a teenager I would spend hours going through my stacks of magazines and cutting out any piece that caught my eye. Last week, as my boyfriend and I were rearranging our apartment, I realized how many magazines I have that I haven’t flipped through in years. So, with a pair of scissors and a glue stick, I sat down with an old stack and revisited favourite features I forgot about, great step-by-step DIY projects, and amazing rooms full of ideas for when I eventually own a home.

I ordered the washi tape from Omiyage last week. I’ve been staring at it for a few days wondering where to start with it so I’m glad I’ve finally put it to use!

I’d love to know how you store your magazines? Do you keep them? Some? Recycle? Let me know in the comments.

2 thoughts on “pinning it old school

  1. Love your old school collages! Yes, there’s something wonderful about composing them yourself….messier….yummier! Like an art journal or something. My daughter is making her bedroom furniture from pallets at this very moment…darn Pinterest. We’re both addicted and it’s driving my poor husband crazy. We’ve broken one saw and dropped his hammer in a gallon of paint. We baked the Pinterest brownies with the Oreos in the center too…warning-Pinterest makes you fat. Love your blog!

    • I agree! Pinterest is addicting. I often get carried away with pinning, and forget to revisit projects I pinned. Good for you for actually following through with yours! What kind of pallet furniture is your daughter making? I’ve seen so many variations, and they all look very cool.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

